I work for Nikon… That’s N.I.K.O.N. and not C.A.N.O.N. Got it?

So, yesterday a friend from church called me to get him a quote for a Canon Powershot something or other. Hello! Sure, I used to shoot with a small Canon, and it served me well, but Canon cameras stopped delighting me, or being of any interest, when I switched to Nikon around three years ago. Now “I Am Nikon” Ha! Despite having a camera attached to me semi-permanently, like an extra limb, I don’t actually know all there is to know about all cameras on the market… I leave that up to my friend Kim in Madagascar…

And whatever you do, please don’t call me for a quote on any Nikon gear either – I’m working for a newly-created division within Nikon SA called Nikon Africa Trust, and don’t have a clue about prices and specs and deals currently available. I’m sure your local camera dealer would be a great deal more knowledgeable than I.  And just because I have a camera doesn’t mean that I feel like taking wedding photos, syrupy family portraits or photos of your baby dressed as a fluffy bunny. Sorry, that was in my former life (the days of my special orange wedding shirt, orange shades and dented film SLR – the one that fell on the Great Wall of China).

I’ll write a bit more about what the Trust is all about in a future post, but for now I’m sure you’d like to know what gear I’m using (none of which is actually mine, by the way). Here it is – drool away.

Nikon D7000

The Nikon D7000: Fast, brilliant in low light and featuring amazing image quality …

Nikon 85mm f/1.8

Nikon 85mm f/1.8: An extremely sharp lens, which allows me to shoot portraits at low light. My favourite lens since December.

Nikon 70-200mm VR II

Nikon 70-200mm VR II: I haven’t used it much, but look forward to experimenting with this super-sharp zoom. I’m told it’s sublime.

Nikon 10-24mm

Nikon 10-24mm: AF-S Nikkor f/3.5-4.5G DX ED ultrawide zoom

Nikon SB-600 Speedlight

Nikon SB-600 Speedlight: A great flash, although I detest flash photography, so it doesn’t come out of the bag except in extreme circumstances.

3 thoughts on “I work for Nikon… That’s N.I.K.O.N. and not C.A.N.O.N. Got it?

I'd love to hear from you. Please leave a comment.

